Interested in pursuing a degree in France? Learn more about IAU's degree-granting branch, The American College of the Mediterranean

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Barcelona Semester Calendar

Join IAU for a semester or academic year in Barcelona, Spain. Four months along the Mediterranean offers the opportunity to enroll in region-specific courses, live with a Spanish host, participate in field studies and study tours, hold an internship, or volunteer! 

A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.


Fall 2019 Semester

 Arrival  Saturday, August 31
 Orientation  Monday, September 2 - Tuesday, September 3
 Classes Begin  Wednesday, September 4
 Mid-Semester Exams  Monday, October 14 - Friday, October 25
 Fall Break  Saturday, October 26 - Sunday, November 3
 Last Day of Class  Monday, December 9
 Final Exams  Tuesday, December 10 - Friday, December 13
 Departure  Sunday, December 15


Holidays during class time (non-worked): 

  • Wednesday, September 11: National Day of Catalonia
  • Friday, November 1: All Saints Day
  • Friday, December 6: Constitution Day


Spring 2020 Semester

 Arrival  Sunday, January 19
 Orientation  Monday, January 20 - Tuesday, January 21
 Classes Begin  Wednesday, January 22
 Mid-Semester Exams  Monday, March 9 - Friday, March 13
 Spring Break  Saturday, April 4 - Monday, April 13
 Last Day of Class  Monday, April 27
 Final Exams  Tuesday, April 28 - Friday, May 1
 Departure  Sunday, May 3