Interested in pursuing an American degree in France? Learn about options through IAU's degree-granting institution - The American College of the Mediterranean.

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Aix-en-Provence Academic Calendar

Join IAU for a semester, academic year, or summer in Aix-en-Provence, France. Studying abroad in the south of France offers the opportunity to enroll in site-specific courses taught in English or French, live with a French host, participate in field studies and study tours, hold an internship, or volunteer! 

A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.

The calendar is subject to change.

2024-2025 Academic Year
2025-2026 Academic Year


Summer 2024

Session 2024 Dates Duration Course Load
 Internship  May 18 - July 13
8 weeks 2
A  June 1 - July 13
6 weeks 2 or 3
B June 1 - June 22 3 weeks 1
C June 23 - July 13 3 weeks 1

  Internship Session A Session B Session C
 Arrival Saturday, May 18 Saturday, June 1 Saturday, June 1
Sunday, June 23
 Orientation Monday, May 20
Monday, June 3
Monday, June 3 Monday, June 24
 Classes Begin Tuesday, May 21
Tuesday, June 4 Tuesday, June 4 Tuesday, June 25
Orientation Day-Trip Friday, June 7 Friday, June 7 Friday, June 7 Friday, June 28
 Final Exams  N/A Friday, July 12 Friday, June 21 Friday, July 12
 Departure Saturday, July 13
Saturday, July 13 Saturday, June 22 Saturday, July 13




Fall 2024
 Semester
 

Early Start Program Arrival

Saturday, August 24

Arrival 

Saturday, August 31

Orientation 

Sunday, September 1 - Monday, September 2

Classes Begin 

Tuesday, September 3

Mid-Term Assessments

Monday, October 14 - Friday, October 25

Fall Break 

Saturday, October 26 - Sunday, November 3

Last Day of Class 

Friday, December 6

Exam Period 

Monday, December 9 - Thursday, December 12

Closing Ceremony

Thursday, December 12

Departure 

Friday, December 13




Spring 2025
 Semester
 

Early Start Program Arrival

Saturday, January 18

Arrival 

Saturday, January 25

Orientation 

Sunday, January 26 - Monday, January 27

Classes Begin 

Tuesday, January 28

Mid-Term Assessments

Monday, March 17 - Friday, March 28

Spring Break 

Saturday, March 29 - Sunday, April 6

Last Day of Class 

Friday, May 2

Exam Period 

Monday, May 5 - Friday, May 9

Graduation and Spring Closing Ceremony

Friday, May 9

Departure 

Saturday, May 10





Summer 2025

Session 2025 Dates Duration Course Load
Internship  Saturday, May 17 - Saturday, July 12  8 weeks 2
A  Saturday, May 31 - Saturday, July 12  6 weeks 2 or 3
B  Saturday, May 31 - Saturday, June 21  3 weeks 1
C  Sunday, June 22 - Saturday, July 12  3 weeks 1


  Internship Session A Session B Session C
 Arrival Saturday, May 17 Saturday, May 31 Saturday, May 31
Sunday, June 22
 Orientation Monday, May 19
Monday, June 2
Monday, June 2 Monday, June 23
 Classes Begin Tuesday, May 20
Tuesday, June 3 Tuesday, June 3 Tuesday, June 24
Orientation Day-Trip Friday, June 6 Friday, June 6 Friday, June 6 Friday, June 27
 Final Exams  N/A Friday, July 11 Friday, June 20 Friday, July 11
 Departure Saturday, July 12
Saturday, July 12 Saturday, June 21 Saturday, July 12





Fall 2025
 Semester
 

Early Start Program Arrival

Saturday, August 23, 2025

Arrival 

Saturday, August 30, 2025

Orientation 

Sunday, August 31 - Monday, September 1, 2025

Classes Begin 

Tuesday, September 2, 2025

Mid-Term Assessments

Monday, October 13 - Friday, October 24, 2025

Fall Break 

Saturday, October 25 - Sunday, November 2, 2025

Last Day of Class 

Friday, December 5, 2025

Exam Period 

Monday, December 8 - Thursday, December 11, 2025

Closing Ceremony

Thursday, December 11, 2025

Departure 

Friday, December 12, 2025




Spring 2026 Semester 

Early Start Program Arrival 

Saturday, January 17, 2026

Arrival 

Saturday, January 24, 2026

Orientation 

Sunday, January 25 - Monday, January 26, 2026

Classes Begin 

Tuesday, January 27, 2026

Mid-Term Assessments

Monday, March 16 - Friday, March 27, 2026

Spring Break 

Saturday, March 28 - Sunday, April 5, 2026

Last Day of Class 

Friday, May 1, 2026

Exam Period 

Monday, May 4 - Friday, May 8, 2026

Graduation and Spring Closing Ceremony

Friday, May 8, 2026

Departure 

Saturday, May 9, 2026





Summer 2026

Session 2026 Dates Duration Course Load
Internship Saturday, May 16 - Saturday, July 11 8 weeks 2
A  Saturday, May 30 - Saturday, July 11, 2026 6 weeks 2 or 3
B  Saturday, May 30 - Saturday, June 20, 2026 3 weeks 1
C  Sunday, June 21 - Saturday, July 11, 2026 3 weeks 1


  Internship Session A Session B Session C
 Arrival Saturday, May 16 Saturday, May 30 Saturday, May 30
Sunday, June 21
 Orientation Monday, May 18
Monday, June 1
Monday, June 1 Monday, June 22
 Classes Begin Tuesday, May 19
Tuesday, June 2 Tuesday, June 2 Tuesday, June 23
Orientation Day-Trip Friday, June 5 Friday, June 5 Friday, June 5 Friday, June 26
 Final Exams  N/A Friday, July 10 Friday, June 19 Friday, July 10
 Departure Saturday, July 11
Saturday, July 11 Saturday, June 20 Saturday, July 11