Interested in pursuing a degree in France? Learn more about IAU's degree-granting branch, The American College of the Mediterranean

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Barcelona Semester Calendar

PLEASE NOTE NEW FALL 2020 DATES BELOW

Join IAU for a semester or academic year in Barcelona, Spain. Four months along the Mediterranean offers the opportunity to enroll in region-specific courses, live with a Spanish host, participate in field studies and study tours, hold an internship, or volunteer! 

A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.


Despite what appears to be a major challenge ahead for our nation and the world in containing the current COVID-19 pandemic, we are moving forward with a contingency plan for the upcoming fall term at our Barcelona, Spain campus. We realize many institutions have outright canceled fall program options for their students. And while we understand the need to make these decisions well in advance, our hope is that we may still be able to salvage a fall semester abroad opportunity for those students who seek one. In the current climate, the only thing we can control are academic calendars, deadlines, and refund policies, and below you will find the related updates for the fall 2020 calendar:

Fall 2020 Semester

 Arrival (Early Start - Optional)  Tuesday, September 22
 Arrival   Friday, September 25
 Orientation & City Tour  Saturday, September 26
 Study Tour to Tarragona  Sunday, September 27
 Classes Begin  Monday, September 28
 Study Tour to Montserrat  Friday, October 9
 Make-Up Session for T/Th Classes  Monday, October 12
 Mid-Semester Exams  Monday, November 2 - Thursday, November 5
 Weekend Study Tour to Madrid  Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8
 Thanksgiving - No Classes (IAU Center Open)  Thursday, November 26
 Last Day of Class  Tuesday, December 8
 Final Exams
 Wednesday, December 9 - Friday, December 11        
 Farewell Ceremony  Friday, December 11
 Preliminary Housing Check-Out  Saturday, December 12
 Departure  Sunday, December 13

 


Spring 2021 Semester

 Early Start Program Arrival (optional)  Sunday, January 24
 Arrival  Saturday, January 30
 Orientation  Sunday, January 31 - Monday, February 1
 Classes Begin  Monday, February 1
 Spring Break  Monday, March 1 - Friday, March 5
 Last Day of Class  Thursday, April 29
 Departure  Friday, April 30


Fall 2021 Semester

 Early Start Program Arrival (optional)  Monday, August 30
 Arrival  Sunday, September 5
 Orientation  Monday, September 6 & Tuesday, September 7
 Classes Begin  Wednesday, September 8
 Fall Break  Tuesday, October 19 - Friday, October 22
 Last Day of Class  Friday, December 17
 Departure  Saturday, December 18