Interested in pursuing a degree in France? Learn more about IAU's degree-granting branch, The American College of the Mediterranean

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Barcelona Summer Calendar

PLEASE NOTE NEW SUMMER 2020 DATES BELOW

IAU's summer program in Barcelona, Spain offers students a wide range of liberal arts and fine arts courses in English or Spanish. Three and six-week sessions are available starting in early June giving students great flexibility when planning their summers. Accommodations and excursions are included in all IAU programs.

A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.


Summer 2020

Despite what appears to be a major challenge ahead for our nation and the world in containing the current Covid-19 pandemic, we are moving forward with contingency plans for the upcoming summer term at our Barcelona, Spain campus. We realize many institutions have outright canceled summer program options for their students. And while we understand the need to make these decisions well in advance, our hope is that we may still be able to salvage a summer abroad opportunity for those students who seek one. In the current climate, the only thing we can control are academic calendars, deadlines, and refund policies, and below you will find related updates for both terms. The updated Summer 2020 calendar is below:

Session 2020 Dates Duration Credit Load
 A July 6 - 14 (virtual week)
 July 16 - August 14 (on-campus)
5 weeks 6



Barcelona, Spain Center 6-credit Summer Program
Online Orientation Monday, July 6
Virtual Week Tuesday, July 7 - Tuesday, July 14
Arrival Thursday, July 16
In-Country Orientation Friday, July 17
Excursion to Tarragona Saturday, July 18
Classes continue Monday, July 20
Excursion to Girona & Figueres Friday, July 24
Last Day of Classes Thursday, August 13
Departure Friday, August 14



Summer 2021

Session 2020 Dates Duration Credit Load
 A  June 5 - July 18 6 weeks 6 or 9
B June 5 - June 26 3 weeks 3
C June 26 - July 18 3 weeks 3

  Session A Session B Session C
 Arrival Saturday, June 5 Saturday, June 5
Saturday, June 26
 Orientation Monday, June 7
Monday, June 7
Monday, June 28
 Orientation Field Study Trip Friday, June 11 - Saturday, June 12 (overnight)
Friday, June 11 - Saturday, June 12 (overnight) Friday, July 2 
 Classes Begin Wednesday, June 10 Wednesday, June 10
Tuesday, June 30
 Final Exams  Friday, July 16 Friday, June 25 Friday, July 16
 Departure Sunday, July 18 Saturday, June 26 Sunday, July 18