Interested in pursuing an American degree in France? Learn about options through IAU's degree-granting institution - The American College of the Mediterranean.

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Madrid Academic Calendar

Join IAU for a semester, academic year, or summer in Madrid, Spain. Studying abroad in the heart of the Iberian Peninsula offers the opportunity to enroll in region-specific courses, live with a Spanish host, participate in field studies and study tours, hold an internship, or volunteer! 


A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.


Fall 2022 Semester

 Arrival in Madrid  Thursday, September 8
 Orientation & City Tour
 Friday, September 9
 Classes Begin   Monday, September 12
 Last Day of Classes
 Thursday, December 15
 Departure
 Friday, December 16


Spring 2023 Semester

Early Start Program Arrival (Optional) Sunday, January 15
 Arrival in Madrid  Thursday, January 19
 Orientation & City Tour
 Friday, January 20 - Saturday, January 21
 Classes Begin
 Monday, January 23
 Last Day of Classes
 Thursday, May 4
 Departure
 Friday, May 5

Summer 2023 

 Arrival in Madrid  Sunday, May 21
 Orientation & Classes Begin
 Monday, May 22
 City Tour & Welcome Activity  Friday, May 26
 Last Day of Classes
 Friday, June 30
 Departure
 Friday, June 30



*The Academic Calendars and program dates are subject to change.*