Interested in pursuing an American degree in France? Learn about options through IAU's degree-granting institution - The American College of the Mediterranean.

Bachelor's and Master's Programs

Barcelona Academic Calendar

Join IAU for a semester, academic year, or summer in Barcelona, Spain! Studying abroad along the Mediterranean offers students a wide range of liberal arts and region-specific courses in English or Spanish, the opportuntity to participate in for-credit internships, and access to cultural and academic field studies and excursions.

A note to students: IAU advises that students do not make any travel arrangements prior to the first week of classes. Field studies and course excursions can be scheduled during weekends and breaks, so IAU recommends not purchasing any tickets or scheduling any travel until after learning of course requirements on-site.


Spring 2023 Semester

 Early Start Program Arrival (optional)  Monday, January 9
 Arrival  Monday, January 16
 Orientation  Tuesday, January 17 & Friday, January 20
 Classes Begin  Wednesday, January 18
 Spring Break  Monday, April 3 - Monday, April 10
 Last Day of Class  Tuesday, April 25
 Final Exams  Wednesday, April 26 - Friday, April 28
 Departure  Saturday, April 29


Summer 2023

Session 2023 Dates Duration Credit Load
 Internship  May 22 - July 15
8 weeks 6
A  June 1 - July 15
6 weeks 6 or 9
B June 1 - June 24 3 weeks 3
C June 22 - July 15 3 weeks 3

  Internship Session A Session B Session C
 Arrival Monday, May 22 Thursday, June 1 Thursday, June 1 Thursday, June 22
 Orientation Tuesday, May 23
Friday, June 2
Friday, June 2 Friday, June 23
 Classes Begin Wednesday, May 24
Monday, June 5 Monday, June 5 Monday, June 26
Orientation Day-Trip Friday, May 26
Saturday, June 3 Saturday, June 3 Friday, June 30
 Final Exams  Friday, July 14 Friday, July 14 Friday, June 23 Friday, July 14
 Departure Saturday, July 15
Saturday, July 15 Saturday, June 24 Saturday, July 15



Fall 2023 Semester

 Early Start Program Arrival (optional)  Monday, August 28
 Arrival  Monday, September 4
 Orientation  Tuesday, September 5 & Friday, September 8
 Classes Begin  Wednesday, September 6
 Fall Break  Wednesday, December 6 - Sunday, December 10
 Last Day of Class  Thursday, December 14 
 Final Exams  Friday, December 15
 Departure  Saturday, December 16